Cindy Gordon

What do I do for a bio thingy?????

OK, here goes: I was born a poor black man.... OK seriously....

This is truly the most bizarre thing I have ever had to do.  After finishing high school at a boarding school in Stamford, CT (post incarceration episode), I went off to school outside Boston... Curry College, where I lasted 2 years and dropped out.  I spent the next 2 years at The New England School of Photography, where I studied to be a photographer, which I did for a little while trying to eke out a living.

I then met a guy, Ted, through a neighbor, and we lived together until we got married the next year at my parents house in Scarsdale.  We then moved down to NY, as Ted had a job offer here.  And my parents were (finally) divorced the next year.

I did a little photography, worked at a flower shop, and then got an entry level job at a management training company in NYC, for a company that was based in Boston.  So I traveled quite a bit back and forth to Boston, which I missed dearly.

After a 7 year stint there, my father was starting up a company and asked me to join him in growing this company.  Little did I know this was the job that would take me on paths all over the world and be the happiest part of my life.  We started a company called Gordon Textiles and we were the agents for a group of International Textile Mills.  We sold the fabrics to designer level clients (i.e., Ralph Lauren, Anna Sui, Calvin Klein, etc.)  I began traveling the world for trade shows and meetings, and spent time all over France, Italy, Germany, Japan and Canada.  I traveled at least 50% of the time and I became pretty fluent in French and can speak conversational Italian.  

I also have traveled ALL over the Caribbean, and twice to India, as Ted was a government brat and grew up in New Delhi.

Ted and I had moved to Port Chester where we lived for 20 years and got divorced about 4 years ago.  Fortunately we are still friends, and he got married about 2 years ago.  I bought a beautiful condo on the water in Greenwich.

About 2 years ago I developed severe Osteoarthritis in both knees, which forced me to quit my fabulous job in the City and had to stop working because of the chronic pain.  I had one TKR (total knee replacement) at the end of January and am still recuperating.  It is a very long process, and I feel down a lot that my life has taken such a different direction, but I know that basically all is as it should be, and I truly believe I'm on a mission and I don't know the destination yet.

I have made some wonderful friends here in Greenwich and my life is full, even with my knee problem.  It's all good.

Believe it or not, I have been seeing someone from SHS for a few years (I'LL never tell) and so perhaps I have come full circle.  It's great to be connected again and I hope to hear from any/all of you who remember me!!

Cindy